Today we put some duck weed in our pond. So far we have 8 rollie pollies, 1 hissing cockroach, and 4 baby crickets. I have about 20 cups of feed lot soil and about 2 cups of a beach sand and feed lot soil mixture. I have some carnation that i planted yesterday. I also put already grown ivy in it. I actually like how our ecosystem is coming. I plan on putting many more biotic factors in my ecosystem. I am hoping for our ecosystem to come out great. Even if we don't will i just hope we are satisfied with our finished product and hopefully keep constructing it even after we are done with 
NASA
11/15/2011 12:01:21 am

What other biotic and abiotic factors do you plan on putting in your ecosystem? Do you plan on putting in any other autotrophs or heterotrophs into your system.

Reply
11/15/2011 02:09:44 am

Yes, I do. i plan on putting worms soon. I also plan on putting extra bark for shelter.

Reply
NASA
11/15/2011 03:08:30 am

Why are worms needed in your system?

Reply
11/15/2011 09:16:35 am

Worms put nitrogen in the soil and help the plants to grow. They create micro pores, which positively affect water infiltration and root growth.

Reply
NASA
11/15/2011 11:45:35 pm

What other decomposers do you think will appear in your ecosystem? Will all decomposers be welcome in your system?

Reply
11/16/2011 12:22:25 am

I hope to some how get some mushrooms into my ecosystem, and yes everything is welcome to my ecosystem. Just as long at life is suitable for them.

Reply



Leave a Reply.